Sweet Filthy Boy by Christina Lauren review

You’re having an instalove moment. It’s freaking me out. Are your panties still under there?”

What a very accurate quote that is. This book is not only about instalove between two characters, but it will make you fall in love with it just from a few pages. Oh yeah, try to keep those panties on, cause this is one helluva hot book! * wink * 😉

20140623_172617

Mia, fresh out of college, took a trip to Vegas with her best friends and get the time she needed to figure our what she really wanted before she lets reality check in and decide what she’s gonna do for the rest of her life. It’s one of those tales where girls were out partying it up in Vegas, meets a few guys who charms their ways into their night, into their panties, and apparently, into the rest of their lives. 😉

He’s the guy who’ll do a ridiculous robot dance to make you laugh, who’ll lick the tip of your nose, make a fool out of himself for a smile. I’m sure if I tried to wrestle him to the ground, he’d let me win. And enjoy every minute.”

I totally love the characters in this book. Especially Ansel. He’s one of those “book boyfriends” you just want to read on and on and on about. Apparently, he was in the US to have a vacation before going back to France to work on a very important case. Luckily, he also had his two best friends with him which was just so perfect to keep Mia and her friends company.

My last name is Guillaume. My father is French. My mother is American.”

Gee what?” I repeat, floundering with the accent. “I wouldn’t even know how to spell that.” I frown, rolling the word around in my head a few times. “In fact, I’m not even sure what letter it begins with.”

You’ll need to learn to spell it,” he says, dimple flashing. “You’ll have to sign your new name on your bank checks, after all.”

I don’t gush much about anything. Honestly, I don’t. So imagine me with this book on my hand and rolling around because I was so infatuated, and got so “kilig” with this book. You know that Filipino word, “kilig”? Yeah, the English word “giddy” just wouldn’t do, but “kilig” definitely does, no matter what they say the translation is. 🙂

 

I’m shaking because what the fuck does that mean that I have a ring that looks like a wedding ring and why can’t I remember what we did?”

It’s Vegas, and so, they went and got married. ALL six of them. And on the next day the other two couples filed for annulments, while Mia and Ansel decided to stay married, at least until Mia starts school again. I think Mia got the best deal out of all of them, cause not only did she get married to Ansel, she got a free trip to France, and not only that, but free stay at Ansel’s place.

What we know is dimly lit bars, playful banter, the clean crisp sheets of hotel rooms. What we know is the unrequited possibility, the temptation of the idea. The make-believe. The adventure.

But when you choose the adventure, it becomes real life.

They stayed married, playing house and eventually fell in love. The only downside to it all was that they didn’t know each other well enough, and Ansel was really really busy with his job. They started their relationship backwards, and when their past, the things they didn’t know about each other, caught up with them, it starts a test to see how deep their feelings about each other really is and if their relationship could last.

Do you ever feel like your heart is twisted inside your chest, and somebody has their fist wrapped around it, squeezing?”

Ansel was perfect in every sense of the word, except for one thing; he was hiding something from Mia. Every time Mia asked about Perry, he either avoided it or omitted something important. Whilst Mia thought Perry was one of Ansel’s “guy” best friends, it turned out that Perry was a woman, and was an ex-fiancee.

Everybody loves Ansel, so it appears that his ex is still in love with him. Perry is one of those girls who just can’t accept that the guy she loves broke up with her, and eventuallyturned to one of those women who constantly calls, and texts the guys going as far as ambushing him at one of his friends’ parties. It turns out she was one very very bitter bitch (*ehem*, excuse my French. LOL).

You give me your soul, and I make your problems go away.”

When you look the way you do, I don’t think I have much use for a soul. It’s yours.”

This is probably one of the best reasons why people should know each other really well first before jumping into a relationship, most of all, before getting married. It saves you from being blindsided later on and you would have a very good foundation to go with it.

Just when they were getting the hang of being married to each other, Perry comes a long and causes a rift so vast that Mia flies back to the US. Pretty stupid right? While Ansel was trying so hard to explain and wants to salvage their marriage of all things, she runs away, which is what she also did before she went to France with Ansel, she ran away from facing her father head-on with what she really wanted to do. Although generally I liked Mia as a heroine, but she was also frustrating and indecisive on her own.

This isn’t never. It’s just not now.

I thought there would eventually be a scenario where Mia gets pregnant and Ansel finds out which is what typically happens in these types of stories, but no. It ended really well, there wasn’t a lot of groveling from either characters, just simply a lot of help from their friends and the realization that they loved each other.

… And I’m here because I can’t be away from you, Mia. You’re my wife.”

I would really want to read this book in Ansel’s perspectives because there was so much in this book we didn’t know what happened with him and how he thought about every surprise that came their way.

This was the first Christina Lauren book I’ve ever read, and I will definitely backtrack and read their previous books. 🙂 This was a great start for a new series and because the characters are not hard to love. I really look forward to reading the next books of this series.

Sweet Filthy Boy left my emotions running high. It will make you swoon from sweetness, it will fill your minds with filthy thoughts, and you will laugh your asses off but most of all, you will fall in love. 😉

“It is possible to fall that fast.”

5 stars

5 stars

😉 written by pj 😉

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

