Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover review

10300901_824927130851783_3871293904074024606_n

 

How badly did it hurt that you don’t ever want to experience love again?

Ugly Love. Love that is ugly? Love that turned ugly? It boggles the mind what it means by the title alone and it absolutely scared the shit out of me to open the pages and finally read what’s within.

I braced myself; for the setting, for the story, for the characters, their first meeting, for the devastation, the loss, the heartache, the pain.

 

But after all of that preparation, from the very first chapter, I knew I was doomed.

 

Doomed to read until I finish it and doomed to lose some sleep.

 

“Sometimes moving on is . . . the only way to move on.”

 

Did you hear that? That was a heart breaking. Not even 30% into the book and your heart gets shattered. I mean, who does that? How does that happen? Colleen Hoover just did because Ugly Love happened.  August 5, 2014 should be a day to commemorate all those hearts breaking because of this book.

 

“That’s how it is when a person develops an attraction toward someone. He’s nowhere, then suddenly he’s everywhere, whether you want him to be or not.”

 

Miles. He came in like a wrecking ball. That he did.

 

Miles’ character was not hard to love. If the book was only told from Tate’s perception, I would have wanted her to stop. I would have wanted her to run the hell away from him. Because honestly, she deserved better. If it was only Tate’s point of view, the book would have sat on the “did not finish” pile. But brilliantly written, we get to read Miles’ past too, slowly understanding why he drifted away, became distant and acts like he does.

 

“Don’t ask about my past. And don’t expect a future.”

 

When a guy says that to you, you run. Go the opposite direction. Get away from him as far as you can. Because, obviously, he’s bad news. You will end up hurt.

 

When you read that phrase, you know you will read about heartache and pain. I guess most readers are masochists because they just keep reading until they’re crying trying to get to the end and finally get closure.  And for a minute there I was worried I wouldn’t, but thank the heavens it’s a standalone and did not have any cliffhangers.

 

“Can you lock the door on your way out?”

 

Wow. Did Miles just say that? After having sex? He’s an ass. Yep, he was for the most part of the book. And Tate isn’t any better. She was mistreated, but she still hangs on and takes it in stride. She got hurt and a simple text, a simple note, and a sorry from Miles; she ran back to him. I hated that. I hated that she can’t let go. She can’t say “no” earlier on in the book. She hoped too much. You’d wish she’d get revenge and hurt Miles the same way he hurt her, but he was already hurting anyway, so revenge would not impact much… I guess…

“You make it so hard to breathe.”

 

Ugly Love was devastating. It was heartbreaking. It was painful.

 

Over 90% of the book, you will suffer as much as Miles and Tate did.

You will get your heart broken. You will be destroyed. Wrecked. Ruined.

 

The last chapters of the book will put your heart back. Stitch it right up. Heal you.

 

 “What do you think would make a man never want to experience love again?”

“I suppose if a man lived through the ugliest side of love, he might never want to experience it again.”

I didn’t know what I was going to get when I purchased this book. I read the excerpt, I read those teasers (which are pretty EVIL, by the way), I had my expectations obviously, but it just didn’t compare.

 

It totally blew my mind how one person can write a story like this and makes you wonder what happened to her when she wrote this. What inspired her to write this. It still baffles and amazes me.

 

One thing is for sure though…

Ugly Love is not ugly.

Ugly Love is beautiful.

 

 5 stars

5 stars

😉 written by: hwangchinren 😉

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover review

  1. rumadak says:

    You make me want to read it so much!!!

Leave a Reply

