Take A Chance by Abbi Glines review

“If you think she could be the one then it’s time you take a chance. If I lost all that I have tomorrow, I wouldn’t regret a single minute. Ever. They’re what makes my life worth it.”

Good girls changing the bad boys never gets old. From Rush to Woods, we now get to experience how Grant leaves his ladies begging for more.

From Fallen Too Far, we have experienced how unique life gets at Rosemary and how these bunch are very close-knit and since the arrival of Blaire, nothing has ever been the same again.

Fast forwarding to Grant. Grant Carter was the good guy in previous novels – the one who gave Blaire a full tank of gas even after being held at gunpoint, he is the dependable stepbrother to Rush even though it’s not like that way anymore, but like Woods and Rush, he also has a string of girls going after him. I liked him in the previous novels, he was just there when they needed him, he was a great friend, a great brother, and was one of those people who helped keep Blaire and Rush together. In Take a Chance though, I don’t know what to say about him. Not really.

First of all, he slept with Nan. Second, he and Nan were close at some point and he thought he loved her. I don’t get it, why her?

“Mine had been the arms she’d run into, and like a fool I had opened them up for her. Now, all I had was a lot of damn drama and a slightly damaged heart. She hadn’t claimed it. Not completely. But she had touched a place no one else had. She had needed me. No one had ever needed me. It made me weak.”

Third, after he took Harlow’s virginity, he slept with Nan again, even though it was a weak moment, that’s still not a good enough reason. Ewww. Fourth, he was afraid of Harlow because he might fall in love with her and lose her at some point in the future. Hellooooo, people die all the time. I wanted to bash his head in for being an idiot. And yes, the list goes on and on.

I loved Grant in the previous novels, and I was especially excited about him and Harlow when they were introduced to each other in Woods’ story. I just can’t believe that in the first half of this book, he was so afraid and so full of bull that he ended up sleeping with Nan and having a threesome with random twins. It’s a good thing he has Rush to get good advices from and luckily, he listens.

“But is she worth trying?”
“Yeah, she’s worth begging.”

Harlow. I don’t know whether to be happy for her that she met Grant or not. I think she was better off without him and better off in LA reading her books, but I guess being the daughter of a rock god, being sisters with Nan and being childhood friends with Rush gives you a ticket to meet and be a part of the Rosemary group.

I liked Harlow. She was shy, sheltered, honest and kind. She won’t start a fight, but will stand her ground if you mess with her. She was, like Blaire, bad-ass. And I totally agree with these guys when they say they don’t deserve the girl in the story, because for all the reasons they have fucked up in these stories, they were easily forgiven. Harlow was one of those, and she was that good.

This book had a lot of twists and surprises and we finally see a side of Kiro Manning that even Harlow haven’t seen before. We also get to meet Mase, the overprotective brother, whom I hope will get his own book or books in the future.

I had mixed emotions for this book. I don’t know if I loved it or not. I don’t know if I wanted to know the outcome of their relationship or not. But from the first ever chapter, something is piqueing at your curiosity that makes you turn the pages just to be filled in some more and you turn and end up with the last page of the story and had been left hanging. God, I hate cliffhangers. An Abbi Glines book should come with a warning when it has cliffhangers because, OMG, her cliffhangers are so devastating it’s hard to sleep after getting hooked on reading it.

Take a Chance, by its name, is a book about taking chances. It’s sweet, it’s funny, its intense and so heartbreaking that it will make you beg for One More Chance.

“Things were said I’ll never forget. That chapter is closed.”

4 stars

4 stars

😉 written by hwangchinren 😉

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Take A Chance by Abbi Glines review

  1. Pingback: One More Chance by Abbi Glines review | palabasalibro

Leave a Reply

