Marrow by Tarryn Fisher review

“I believe in loneliness so deep and profound it has a physical presence. I believe in choices – hard ones that people in charge seldom seem to get right. I believe that everyone needs something: a woman’s touch, companionship, money, forgiveness. And to acquire those things a person will accumulate as much sin as they need to.”

As much as possible, I try to stay away from books with so much pain and sadness. And when I saw a newly released Tarryn Fisher book, I know it would be full of those. I mean, have you read her profile on Goodreads? It comes with a warning of, “I try to write stories that pull on people’s emotions. I believe that sadness is the most powerful emotion, and swirled with regret the two become a dominating force.”  However, I love her writing style. Even if you’ll cry a lot throughout the books, you’ll learn a lot and whatever she writes are often “worldly truths” that you would end up pondering about. And so I read it, but before that I had to read about four “feel-good” books to prepare myself for whatever lies inside Marrow.

“It is pitiful, this thing we call life.”

As a child I was like playing whatever toy I could grab and to compare that after going into Margo’s world, and know for sure that in reality there’s someone out there going through these things is just disturbing. Having no one to depend on but yourself, and still have to do stuff for other people because you can’t help but care is unfair. And to expect children to defend themselves, it’s just not right. Reading through Marrow, Margo’s life would highlight a lot of these things and if you think of it in our reality, it is sad but true.

“There is no comfort for the broken.”

 One way to describe this book, is that it is creepy but fun. I tried to dissect parts of it, like that time when she was trailing Lyndee but I felt like I’m being watched and I check the clock and saw that it’s nearly three in the morning and end up freaking myself out. I did try to put the CSI “knowledge” I picked up from the TV show in this and tried to look for evidences in favor of and against Margo. And it didn’t take me long to predict that by reading “plastic handcuffs”, bad things were about to go down. The mystery was the fun bit. 🙂

“You must not let hatred destroy you. You will lose your soul.”

Life is never fair. We live in a world where there’s always the poor, the middle class, and the rich. There’s a saying, the rich are getting richer, and the poor are getting poorer. The rich become powerful, the middle class struggle to be rich, and the poor struggle to just live. Why am i spouting these “non-sense” (if you call it that), is because it’s a truth. And after reading Marrow, if you’re up in the clouds in your own little bubble, well, you’re about to face-plant the earth, get that face scarred and get a few facial bones broken and you still have to face the truth. And yeah, the truth isn’t always pretty.

“You can do without a lot of things in this life, but shoes are a necessity. If you’re stealing shoes, it’s a desperate necessity. And I will not stand in the way of people trying hard to survive.”

We heard of Zorro, Batman, the Ninja Turtles, Light in Death Note, Spider Man. the Arrow, the Flash, the City Hunter in that anime or that Korean drama… and now there’s Margo. They are what we could call a “vigilante” , a person who takes law into their own hands and serve justice the way they see fit. If only they could be real right? Then we’d have fewer criminals on the streets and the injustices all over would be less. But if “A thief is a thief no matter what he does with the money”, then “A killer is a killer no matter how and who he kills”.

“It’s never stupid to dream. Dreams are plans; they get your heart moving, and once your heart gets moving, your brain will follow.”

There’s something addictive about the books Tarryn Fisher writes. In her own twisted way, and through vivid examples, you could say that one can make various realizations and reflections after reading Marrow. When I started Marrow, I did not know what it was really about, cause the synopsis I read wasn’t that helpful at all. Reading through it, I did not get why Margo should do a crime just to get back at those other criminals but when I read her note at the end regarding that youtube video that she saw, I got it. I understood. We become ignorant and live on as though nothing is amiss because we can’t do anything about them. It makes you think about about all the WHY’s and the HOW’s.

“Any of us could do something wrong. Should we be arrested – and possibly executed – based on what we might potentially do? Imagine what that would look like in real life. Would you want to live in that society?”

I was so out of my comfort zone with this book, but I loved it. There’s something about revenge that hooks a person, more so if “justice” is served in a twisted and cruel way that you overlook it because the other person deserves it.  But no matter how the line between the wrong and the right gets blurred, one thing I know for sure, this book is probably one I would recommend to my friends for a long time.

“Sometimes, by saving someone else, you save yourself a little as well. By loving someone else and expecting nothing in return, we learn to love ourselves and expect nothing in return. Perhaps it is the simple act of doing for others that makes us feel more valuable in our own skin.”

 

It’s gripping, hair-raising, and probably one of the books you won’t forget. You won’t go wrong with this book. 

5 stars

5 stars

😉 written by: hwangchinren 😉

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

