Kaleidoscope Hearts by Claire Contreras review

“The thing about life is that you never know when it will show you something that touches you so deeply that you can’t help but be grateful for everything…even the bad.”

 I must admit, this was absolutely a cover buy. I read this book when it was first released, I think that was around last year, and then I recently re-read it again because I found it free on amazon. Yes, FREE! (Go download it on kindle!) And can you blame me for being guilty of the cover buy? Cause look at that cover – gorgeous!

“What’s the difference? You make them with broken pieces.”

“The difference is that it’s already broken, but I use the pieces to rebuild it. The difference is that the heart has a second chance, and maybe it’ll get broken again, but it’s already shattered, so maybe the fall won’t be as bad.”

And don’t you love reading second chance romances as much as I do? When the guy knows he messed up and would just about do anything to get his girl back? I’m always curious to see how the hero would grovel at this point. Yeah, I’m a sucker for those too. And what’s hooked me on this book more was that the heroine fell in love with her brother’s best friend – so you could tell there were a lot of secrets being revealed in this book which surprised majority of the characters here.

“I don’t climb into windows, Elle. I don’t do chasing. I don’t go out of my way to explain my decisions to women I date. If they don’t like something about me, they’re free to go, as am I. I think the fact that I’m here right now says a lot.”

This was an emotional read, but not that much. It will definitely pull your heartstrings, but it’s not an ugly cry read. In fact, there were a lot of cute moments from the couple here. You could tell the hero was not letting anything stop him anymore and his efforts would make you fall in love with him too.

“I realized that sometimes in order to move forward you have to let go of the past, even if it hurts. Especially if it hurts.”

The only thing I didn’t like about this book was the absolute horror of the end! I didn’t want it to end – I wanted more, and sadly the epilogue just didn’t cut it. It was sweet, sure, but no insight on their lives a few years later? Or what about kids? They would have been adorable with kids! I guess the only consolation here is that there’s a second book in this series, but with another couple this time. I do still hope to get a glimpse of this couple there, though. 😀

“Love is beautiful, shattering, moving, haunting. Love is everything.”

There was really no absolute negative about this book. You just know a book is that good when you’re not getting tired of reading it over and over again.

This book is about loss, friendship, family, love, and second chances. Read it, you might find it like a soothing balm to your broken hearts. 🙂

5 kaleidoscope stars

5 stars

😉 hwangchinren 🙂

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kaleidoscope Hearts by Claire Contreras review

  1. Pearl Angeli says:

    Gaaah! It’s free??? OMG thanks for informing us. 🙂 LOVE YOUR REVIEW! ❤

Leave a Reply

