The Wall of Winnipeg and Me by Mariana Zapata review

I was browsing Amazon to download another sports romance on my kindle when I saw this at the top of the list. #1 to be exact. So after reading the excerpt, I immediately one-clicked it.

The plot got to me. The heroine was an assistant who quit, then her boss (who was a football player) went out of his way to convince her to come back. If that wasn’t bait enough for a sports romance fan, the cover with the helmet should do it. 🙂

It was a nice book. It was funny, and would make the reader giddy with some scenarios. From the first chapter, you would be intrigued where the story would go and would read page after page, however I found myself confused and frustrated most of these chapters. Don’t get me wrong, I liked the plot, I liked how the story went, but I guess the writing style didn’t work for me at all.

It strange because in some books, you sometimes wish authors would explain more for the reader to get a clearer picture. In this case, I wanted just simple details because sometimes simple is enough. This book was too descriptive for my liking that I think it beats my thesis in descriptions. The more I read, the more confused I got. I was reading paragraphs all over again because I got lost in those long monologues some of which weren’t that important at all. It needs to be edited a few more, I think.

And I don’t know, maybe it’s the way it downloaded on my kindle or something but I found some parts cut and some pages repeated. It’s either that or there’s something wrong with the original uploaded file on amazon. (Hope somebody checks that out.)

Overall, this book is good. Although I wouldn’t say it would rank at #1. It had all these elements (the football, the assistant, their pasts, the marriage of convenience thing ) to it that would have made it a really great book if executed right. It would have also helped to know what the “Wall of Winnipeg” was thinking throughout the book. It did have a sweet ending though.

It was a slow-paced book and because of the descriptive nature of the book, it dragged a little bit more. So I would recommend this to only the patient people. 🙂

3 star

3 stars 

 

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

