Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas review

“Courage of the heart is very rare.”

It has been a while since I read a book along the lines of fantasy or a series for that matter. I just had to read this book because my 12 year old cousin kinda raided my book stash and she wanted to read this one, which I wasn’t sure if it was appropriate for her age. Apparently, it was-  so all is well.

“What’s the point in having a mind if you don’t use it to make judgments?”
“What’s the point in having a heart if you don’t use it to spare others from the harsh judgments of your mind?”

The heroine is an assassin, so I was looking forward to reading a kick ass book. What i got was a bit of an out of practice assassin whose words are sharper than her bite. Then enter the prince and the guard. Again, I was looking forward to a love triangle of sorts, what I got was a thick headed royal guard and a very persistent and kind prince who want more from the heroine. (So yeah, you get that I am rooting for Team Dorian from here.)

For all the talk about the competition, this book wasn’t solely centered on it – which is a good thing. However, there was too much monologues, reflections and realizations that I could have gone without and could have been replaced with more exciting stuff. The heroine was an assassin, I wanted more blood and gore. It lacked a bit of bad-ass-ery in my opinion.

And a hopeless romantic that I am, I wanted something more from Dorian and Celaena, only to be disappointed with the end of their love story. I was heartbroken. Was the author leaning for Chaol and Celaena after all? (you find out about this in book two)
If you love fantasy and young adult books, then this might be the book for you. If you are a hopeless romantic, you may not like this book (that much) but it will keep you giddy, what with all the contenders for the heroine in this series, you will likely form teams from it.

I would have stopped reading the series here, since I was a bit disappointed in it. But I heard that it got better, that there were more characters, and that she got to be queen – so I am looking forward to reading the next books in the series. If you like surprises, the book definitely has lots of twists and turns.

 

3 star

 

3 stars

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

