It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover review

“There is no such thing as bad people. We’re all just people who sometimes do bad things.” 

I had this book for about 48 hours before I got the courage to read it. And yes, the courage I gathered to read this book did me wonders. I used up a roll of tissues. I’m a mess at an ungodly hour. My eyes are puffy and my nose is sore. And I am eating chocolate at 6AM (because that’s when I finished the book — started it at 11PM) just to make myself feel better. Chocolate at 6AM people!

“Most plants do need a lot of care to survive. But some things, like trees, are strong enough to do it by just relying on themselves and nobody else.” 

I dove into the book not knowing anything. Not a synopsis, not a spoiler in sight. I got the book purely  because the author was Colleen freaking Hoover – and if you ever read one of her books, you won’t ask her readers and followers why.

But I will start my day doing some good and give you a bit of a spoiler: YOU WILL CRY!

“I think about how sometimes, no matter how convinced you are that your life will turn out a certain way, all that certainty can be washed away with a simple change in tide.” 

Naked truth? About a few chapters in, I stopped a bit for a break. It was a delicate situation I was reading – and I wanted to read a spoiler just to put my mind at ease. But guess what – I did not see any spoilers! I must have been searching or browsing at the wrong places, because I searched for about ten to fifteen minutes and couldn’t find anything. So yeah, at that point I knew I was going to do it on my own.

“Life is a funny thing. We only get so many years to live it, so we have to do everything we can to make sure those years are as full as they can be. We shouldn’t waste time on things that might happen someday, or maybe even never.” 

It Ends With Us. I was wondering what it could mean. A lot of plots can come from those four words. And it kept me wondering until the very last chapter. After that, it was like a ‘eureka’ moment. I did not expect that. Not at all. So if you have preconceived notions on what happens in this book – throw it away. It’s better to just go in blind.

“Imagine all the people you meet in your life. There are so many. They come in like waves, trickling in and out with the tide. Some waves are much bigger and make more of an impact than others. Sometimes the waves bring with them things from deep in the bottom of the sea and they leave those things tossed onto the shore. Imprints against the grains of sand that prove the waves had once been there, long after the tide recedes.”

I was going through the reviews and I found somethings unsettling. It surprises me that people put low ratings on the books that matter. Some will say that they read this book because of all the hype we generated and after reading it – they didn’t understand it at all.

The situations and characters here are realistic. If you are looking for dragons, faeries, nymphs, aliens, vampires, assassins and the like – you will not find it here. You simply have the wrong genre. (Don’t bash, I’m not against those books with those themes at all, in fact I read them too. Just an example.) But if you are open-minded and can grasp what’s going on in the world around you – you may like this book. In fact, you may even love it.

Look at it this way – some people read fiction books with all the adventures and legendary creatures and they almost believe it. But they read about abuse, charity cases, love and not just fictional love, but ‘real situations’ kind of love, and anything basically about life and its struggles and they say it’s not plausible. Those people are ridiculous.

“Maybe love isn’t something that comes full circle. It just ebbs and flows, in and out, just like the people in our lives.” 

I want to put this out there. Because a book makes you cry does not mean it’s already a five star read. I admit – I have encountered a lot of books which made me cry but were mediocre, to say the least. This book is not one of them. This book transcends those and more.

Naked truths. I cried for this book because I can read about broken people trying and struggling in life. I cried for the children who are abandoned and homeless. The street children who turn their lives to crime because they had no choice. I cried for the lovers who were torn apart by situations they cannot control. I cried for the ones physically, mentally and emotionally abused. And I cried real hard for those who loves but doesn’t deserve love.

Honestly, Colleen Hoover’s books should come with a warning label. Every book she had, it almost always made me cry, except for those novellas. This woman knows where to hit you when you least expect it.

“Everyone deserves another chance. Especially the people who mean the most to you.”

One of the reasons I love reading Colleen Hoover books is that they are always filled with a powerful message. One you can relate and apply to in real life. There are a lot of lessons here that may guide you in life – you just have to dig really deep and find them.

That’s what fifteen minutes can do to a person. It can destroy them.
It can save them.”

If you have read the book – I urge you to pass it on. The message in there may be ‘that message’ that someone you know might need at some point in their lives. If not, don’t worry. You’re sharing one hell of a book.

5 stars

5 ROLLS OF TISSUES! 

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

